Softball Team Makes History; Advances To ASC Championship Tournament

Softball Team Makes History; Advances To ASC Championship Tournament

Clarksville, Ark.- The University of the Ozarks softball team made history as it qualified for its first American Southwest Conference Championship Tournament appearance in program history.

The Eagles (10-21) clinched the spot with a dramatic extra inning win over McMurry University on Saturday. The Eagles, the No. 8 seed, will face Texas Dallas (23-17) May 3 in Tyler, Texas in the opening round.

"I am excited for the girls," said manager Jimmy Clark. "It is a great opportunity to compete in the post-season. This is a first for the program. We honored the seniors today and it is nice to see them receive this reward."

The winner of the ASC softball tournament is the conference champion and receives the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Softball Championship. The 2018 tournament is the 20th contested with East Texas Baptist winning a record eight softball titles, including five straight from 2000-2004.

Admission TBA
By ASC policy, no pets – leashed or unleashed – are permitted within the confines of Suddenlink Field. Only properly marked and certified assistance animals are allowed.
Get social and follow the ASC tournament on Twitter using the hashtag, #ASCsb.

2018 American Southwest Conference Softball Championship Tournament
Tyler, Texas | Suddenlink Field | Hosted by University of Texas at Tyler

Championship Bracket

Thursday, May 3 (single elimination)
Gm 1: #6 Louisiana College (21-17) vs. #7 Sul Ross State (18-20), 10:00 a.m.
Gm 2: #5 UT Dallas (23-17) vs. #8 Ozarks (10-21), 1:00 p.m.
Gm 3: #4 Concordia Texas (23-16) vs. Winner Gm 1, 4:00 p.m.
Gm 4: #3 Mary Hardin-Baylor (28-12) vs. Winner Gm 2, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, May 4
Gm 5: #2 East Texas Baptist (31-9) vs. Winner Gm 3, 10:00 a.m.
Gm 6: #1 UT Tyler (35-1) vs. Winner Gm 4, 1:00 p.m.
Gm 7: Loser Gm 5 vs. Loser Gm 6, 4:00 p.m. (elimination)
Gm 8: Winner Gm 5 vs. Winner Gm 6, 7:00 p.m. (elimination)

Saturday, May 5
Gm 9: Winner Gm 7 vs. Loser Gm 8, 11:00 a.m. (elimination)
Gm 10: Winner Gm 8 vs. Winner Gm 9, 2:00 p.m. (elimination)
Gm 11: If Needed, Gm 10 teams, 7:00 p.m.