2019 Spring Men's Tennis Preview

The Eagles, led by Melle Van Duijn, are primed to make another run at the ASC Playoffs.

The Eagles powered their way to the American Southwest Conference Championship Tournament in 2018. It was the fifth consecutive season the program has qualified for the post-season. The Eagles are mostly made up of sophomores and juniors, with only one senior on the roster. Led by No. 1 singles player Melle Van Duijn, the Eagles have experience and depth within the team. Van Duijn, an All-Conference player, opened some eyes when he and Spencer Turner defeated the highly-regarded UT-Tyler doubles tandem 8-6 last season. Juniors Cole Lankford and Jonah Martinez have been All-Conference in the past, while fellow junior Bryce Johnson is prepared for a break-out season. Junior Walker Murray has also shown flashes of potential for the Eagles. Veteran head coach Jeff Kutac will have the luxury of coaching at the new multi-million dollar Tennis Center, which officially opened October 27, 2018. The facility is the best in NCAA Division III and includes PlaySight technology.

2018 Record (ASC): 8-11 (3-2)

2018 Conference Finish: 
3rd, East Division

2018 Tournament: 
1st round (Loss against Hardin-Simmons)

Returning Players: 
Reid Birch (Junior); Bryant Cason (Sophomore); Akevion Cunningham (Senior); Harrison Harbin (Sophomore); Bryce Johnson (Junior); Cole Lankford (Junior); Jonah Martinez (Junior); Max Mathis (Sophomore); Walker Murray (Junior); Josh Robinson (Sophomore); Melle Van Duijn (Junior)

2018 Most Doubles Wins: (10) Cole Lankford/Jonah Martinez 

2018 Most Singles Wins: (10) Melle Van Duijn

2018 No. 1 Singles Player: Melle Van Duijn

2018 No. 1 Doubles: Spencer Turner/Melle Van Duijn

All-Conference Players Returning: Melle Van Duijn

Program Playoff Appearances: (5) 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

2019 Schedule
9 vs Millsaps @ Conway, Ark.
10 vs Millsaps @ Conway, Ark.
16 vs John Brown @ Conway, Ark.
22 at Hardin-Simmons
23 vs Howard Payne @ Abilene, Texas
24 at McMurry

8 vs John Brown
8 vs Texas Wesleyan
14 vs Mary Hardin-Baylor
29 at Collin County Community College Open
30 at *Louisiana College
31 at Centenary 

6 vs *LeTourneau 
12 vs *East Texas Baptist 
13 vs *Belhaven 
17 at Ark.-Fort Smith

2-4 at ASC Championship Tournament

*American Southwest Conference Match
Home matches in BOLD