University of the OzarksEagle Athletics

Eagles Calendar

Events
Sat Nov 23
5:00 PM
at Millsaps
Millsaps Tourney
Sun Nov 24
1:00 PM
vs. Birmingham Southern
@ Jackson, Miss. Millsaps Tourney
Fri Nov 29
7:00 PM
at Neb. Wesleyan
NWU Snyder Classic
Sat Nov 30
3:00 PM
vs. Buena Vista
@ Lincoln, Neb. NWU Snyder Classic
Wed Dec 04
7:30 PM
at Texas-Dallas
Sat Dec 14
4:00 PM
at Austin
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
at Hendrix
Thu Jan 02
7:30 PM
at Mary Hardin-Baylor
Sat Jan 04
3:00 PM
at Concordia (Tex.)
Thu Jan 09
7:30 PM
at LeTourneau
Sat Jan 11
3:00 PM
at East Tex. Baptist
Thu Jan 16
7:30 PM
vs. Belhaven
Sat Jan 18
3:00 PM
vs. Louisiana Col.
Thu Jan 23
7:30 PM
at Howard Payne
Sat Jan 25
3:00 PM
at Sul Ross St.
Sat Feb 01
3:00 PM
vs. Texas-Dallas
Thu Feb 06
7:30 PM
vs. East Tex. Baptist
Sat Feb 08
3:00 PM
vs. LeTourneau
Thu Feb 13
7:30 PM
at Louisiana Col.
Sat Feb 15
3:00 PM
at Belhaven
Thu Feb 20
7:30 PM
vs. McMurry
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
vs. Hardin-Simmons
Thu Feb 27
TBA
at TBA
ASC Championship Tournament
Fri Feb 28
TBA
at TBA
ASC Championship Tournament
View Full Schedule
Results
Sat Dec 01
Final
at Texas-Tyler L, 73-68
Mon Dec 03
Final
vs. McMurry W, 94-81
Wed Dec 05
Final
vs. Hardin-Simmons L, 82-71
Sat Dec 15
Final
at Mary Hardin-Baylor L, 107-72
Mon Dec 17
Final
at Concordia (Tex.) L, 97-77
Sat Dec 29
Final
at Oglethorpe L, 71-54
Comfort Inn and Suites Holiday Classic
Sun Dec 30
Final
vs. Sewanee L, 84-70
@ Atlanta, Ga. Comfort Inn and Suites Holiday Classic
Thu Jan 03
Final
vs. Howard Payne W, 73-61
Sat Jan 05
Final
vs. Sul Ross St. L, 82-73
Thu Jan 10
Final
at Belhaven W, 90-65
Sat Jan 12
Final
at Louisiana Col. L, 88-55
Sat Jan 19
Final
vs. Texas-Dallas L, 89-69
Alumni Recognition Day
Mon Jan 21
Final
vs. Texas-Tyler L, 87-78
Thu Jan 24
Final
vs. LeTourneau W, 81-75
Sat Jan 26
Final
vs. East Tex. Baptist W, 95-83
Thu Jan 31
Final - OT
at East Tex. Baptist L, 92-85
Sat Feb 02
Final
at LeTourneau L, 88-77
Thu Feb 07
Final
at Texas-Dallas L, 95-72
Thu Feb 14
Final
vs. Louisiana Col. L, 95-59
Sat Feb 16
Final
vs. Belhaven W, 82-67
Senior Day
Wed Oct 30
Final
at Central Ark. L, 96-63
Exhibition
Fri Nov 08
Final
vs. Rhodes L, 87-81
Mon Nov 11
Final
vs. Hendrix W, 78-73
Fri Nov 15
Cancelled
vs. Austin
Cancelled
View Full Schedule

Top Stories

November 11, 2019 Eagles Hold Off In-State Rival For 78-73 Win Clarksville, Ark.-The Eagles fought off a second half rally to pick up a 78-73 win over in-state rival Hendrix College Monday night. The Eagles hit an impressive 54 percent from the three-point line in the game. Zach Bobo had a strong first half, scoring 12 points to lead the Eagles into halftime with a 36-27 advantage. Bobo drilled the Eagles third straight three-pointer at the 8:35 mark of the first half to put the home team in front 26-15. In the second half, the Warriors carved into the lead and eventually took a narrow advantage around the five-minute mark. But the Eagles outside shooting was too strong for the Warriors. Jacobe Davis hit back-to-back three-pointers and Cordy Winston drilled another from long range to grab the lead back for the Eagles. Winston had 15 points off the bench. Bryson Johnson and Ethan Bowman each contributed 14 points. In all the Eagles made 13 three-pointers. 
November 8, 2019 2019-2020 Men's Basketball Preview Clarksville, Ark.-The University of the Ozarks men's basketball team saw significant improvement last year and hope to maintain that momentum heading into the 2019-2020 season. The Eagles made a big jump from year one to year two under head coach Travis Carruthers. The Eagles went 7-18 last season and had five more conference wins than the previous season. The Eagles finished just one spot away from making the playoffs. The Eagles return three starters for the upcoming season. Junior point guard Bryson Johnson is back after an All-Conference season. He averaged 12.5 points and 4.0 assists per game. Junior guard Ethan Bowman and senior forward Kelvin Knight saw starts last season. "Our biggest strength is continuity," said Carruthers. "We bring 13 guys back from last year's group. We want to build on the momentum from last season. But it is easier said than done because the conference is so tough. The expectations around the team are high. The guys are pushing each other. We want to make the conference tournament."  The Eagles will need to shoot the ball better from the outside in order to be successful, according to Carruthers. "We didn't shoot the ball very well from the outside, so we had some heart to heart conversations with our guys and they took it and improved on it," he said. "We also have stressed defensive effort and rebounding the basketball from day one." 
November 8, 2019 Rhodes College Upends Eagles In Season-Opener Clarksville, Ark.-Rhodes College outscored the Eagles 47-39 in the second half to take a 87-81 win in each team’s season-opener. The Eagles held the lead the majority of the first half, but couldn’t put the Lynx away as halftime ended with Ozarks leading 42-40. Zach Bobo had a big first half scoring 14 points, while Bryson Johnson had 12. The second half turned in favor of Rhodes as the Lynx hit nearly 52 percent from the floor. The Lynx took a 50-48 advantage at the 17:07 mark of the second half, but the Eagles took the lead back behind Jacobe Davis’ 22 points. However, the Eagles went on an offensive drought scoring only three points over a four-minute span. Davis finished with a team-high 26 points.
October 30, 2019 Eagles Go Into Halftime Tied With NCAA I UCA 34-34 Conway, Ark.-The Eagles gave NCAA I University of Central Arkansas all it wanted in an exhibition game Wednesday night as the two teams were tied at halftime 34-34. The inspired Eagles hit 12-of-14 from the free throw line for 85 percent and got nine points from Zach Bobo in the first half. The Bears had trouble containing Bobo and guard Bryson Johnson throughout the game as the duo forced pressure on the UCA defense by driving and creating scoring opportunities. UCA led 15-11 at the halfway point of the first half, but the Eagles stormed back scoring 18 points in the final five minutes. The Eagles were especially explosive in the final three minutes as UCA held a 31-23 advantage with 3:36 remaining. Johnson highlighted the comeback hitting a shot from well past half court as the buzzer sounded at halftime to send the Eagles into the locker room tied 34-34. However, UCA outscored the Eagles 62-29 in the second half to secure a 96-63 win. The Bears hit 63 percent from the floor in the second half, while the Eagles made just seven field goals. The Eagles did hold one lead in the second half, which came after Bobo hit a free throw just seconds into play. In the end, the Bears hit 48 percent from the field and the Eagles made 26 percent. Johnson and Bobo each finished with 14 points.
September 9, 2019 Sports Information Department Wins Award Clarksville, Ark.-University of the Ozarks has been recognized as the 2018-19 American Southwest Conference Sports Information Department of the Year as selected by the conference sports information directors.
August 1, 2019 Former ASC Star Thomas Orr Named Assistant Men’s Basketball Coach Clarksville, Ark.-Former American Southwest Conference (ASC) basketball star Thomas Orr was named the new assistant men’s basketball coach at University of the Ozarks, it was announced Thursday (August 1) by Athletics Director Jimmy Clark.